The Great Angel
is set over the operations of the
Secret Wisdom
Α και Ω
The First and the Last

• • •

Chapter 78
Wheel and — Woa!

The Great Wheel of Samsara.
The Wheel of the Law (Dhamma).
The Wheel of the Taro.
The Wheel of the Heavens.
The Wheel of Life.
All these Wheels be one; yet of all these the Wheel of the TARO alone avails thee
Meditate long and broad and deep, O man, upon this Wheel, revolving it in thy mind.
Be this thy task, to see how each card springs necessarily from each other card, even in due order from The Fool unto The Ten of Coins.
Then, when thou know’st the Wheel of Destiny complete, mayst thou perceive THAT Will which moved it first. (There is no first or last.)
And lo! thou art past through the Abyss.

The Tarot is a pack of seventy-eight cards. There are four suits, as in modern playing cards, which arederived from it. But the Court cards number four instead of three. In addition, there are twenty-two cards called “Trumps”, each of which is a symbolic picture with a title itself. At first sight one would suppose this arrangement to be arbitrary, but it is not. It is necessitated, as will appear later, by the structure of the universe, and in particular of the Solar System, as symbolized by the Holy Qabalah.  — A. Crowley


The Four Aces

First in order and importance are the Four Aces, representing the Force of the Spirit, acting in, and binding together, the Four Scales of each Element: and answering to the Dominion of the Letters of the Name in the Kether of each. They represent the Radical Forces. The Four Aces are said to be placed on the North Pole of the Universe wherein they revolve, governing its revolution; and ruling as the connecting link between Yetzirah and the Material Plane or Universe.

The Four Knights

The Four Knights (or Kings), or “Figures mounted on steeds,” represent the Yodh forces of the Name in each Suit: the Radix, Father and commencement of Material Forces, a force in which all the others are implied, and of which they form the development and completion. A force swift and violent in its action, but whose effect soon passes away, and therefore symbolized by a Figure on a Steed riding swiftly, and clothed in complete Armour. Therefore is the knowledge of the scale of the King so necessary for the commencement of all magical working.

The Four Queens

The Four Queens are seated upon Thrones; representing the Forces of the Hé of the Name in each suit; the Mother and bringer-forth of Material Forces: a force which develops and realizes that of the King: a force steady and unshaken, but not rapid, though enduring. It is therefore symbolized by a Figure seated upon a Throne: but also clothed in Armour.